ment of Transport [formerly Dept. of Railways and Canals Act (171)], 1936, c. 34. National Harbours Board, 1936, c. 42. Radio Broadcasting (Canadian Broadcasting Act), 1936, c. 24 and amendments. Water Carriage of Goods, 1936, c. 49. Canadian National Capital Revision, 1937, c. 22. Department of Transport Stores, 1937, c. 28. Trans-Canada Air Lines, 1937, c. 43. Radio, 1938, c. 50. Transport (Board of Transport Commissioners), 1938, c. 53. Carriage of Goods by Air, 1939, c. 12. National Emergency Transitional Powers (only as it concerns Department of Transport), 1945, c. 25. Merchant Seamen Compensation, 1946, c. 58 and amendment. Canadian Maritime Commission, 1947, c. 52. Canadian National Refunding, 1947, c. 30. Government Employees Compensation, 1947, c. 18. Port Alberni Harbour Commissioners, 1947, c. 42. Auditors for National Railways (Annual), 1948, c. 13. Canadian National Financing and Guarantee (Annual), 1948, c. 37. New Westminster Harbour Commissioners Refunding, 1948, c. 10.

Veterans Affairs.—Returned Soldiers' Insurance, 1920, c. 54. Pension (157) and amendments. Soldier Settlement (188) and amendments. Veterans' Land, 1942, c. 33 and amendments. Department of Veterans Affairs, 1944, c. 19. Veterans Insurance, 1944, c. 49 and amendment. War Service Grants, 1944-45, c. 51 and amendments. Veterans Rehabilitation, 1945, c. 35 and amendments. Allied Veterans Benefits, 1946, c. 36. Civilian War Pensions and Allowances, 1946, c. 43 and amendment. Fire Fighters War Service Benefits, 1946, c. 52. Special Operators War Service Benefits, 1946, c. 64. Supervisors War Service Benefits, 1946, c. 66. War Veterans' Allowance, 1946, c. 75 and amendment. Women's Royal Naval Services and the South African Military Nursing Service (Benefits), 1946, c. 34. Army Benevolent Fund, 1947, c. 49.

Section 4.—Dominion and Provincial Royal Commissions

DOMINION ROYAL COMMISSIONS

NOTE.—This list is in continuance of those at pp. 1108-1110 of the 1940 Year Book; p. 973 of the 1942 Year Book; p. 1043 of the 1943-44 Year Book; p. 1148 of the 1945 Year Book; p. 1185 of the 1946 Year Book; and p. 1202 of the 1947 Year Book.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into the claims of persons of Japanese race resident in Canada on July 18, 1947, in regard to property losses under custody of the Crown; constituted by Order in Council of July 18, 1947; Commissioner: Hon. Mr. Justice Henry Irvine Bird.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into and report upon the revocation of naturalization or Canadian citizenship certificates; constituted by Order in Council of Sept. 11, 1947; Chairman: His Honour Judge René A. Danis; Commissioners: Aldous Aylen, K.C., Lee A. Kelley, K.C., John Forbes MacNeil, K.C., and Charles Arthur Krug.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into the situation created by the floods in the Lower Fraser Valley, the extent of damage and the measures for relief and rehabilitation; constituted by Order in Council of June 10, 1948; Commissioners: Major-General B. M. Hoffmeister and Hon. Eric W. Hamber.

Royal Commission appointed to examine and report on the increases in the cost of living, specific price levels and the causes that have brought these about; constituted by Order in Council of July 8, 1948; Commissioners: Professor C. A. Curtis, H. C. Bois and Mrs. T. W. Sutherland.

Royal Commission appointed for the purpose of holding inquiries under Section 21 of the Canadian Citizenship Act; constituted by Order in Council of Dec. 17, 1948; Presiding Officer: His Honour Judge René A. Danis; Commissioners: Aldous Aylen, K.C., Lee A. Kelley, K.C., John Forbes MacNeil, K.C., and Robert Alexander Hoey.

Royal Commission appointed to inquire into and report upon the railway freight rates in Canada; constituted by Order in Council of Dec. 29, 1948; Chairman: Hon. W. F. A. Turgeon; Commissioners: Professor Henry Forbes Angus and Professor Harold Adams Innis.

PROVINCIAL ROYAL COMMISSIONS

NOTE.—No reference is given for provinces where Royal Commissions have not been established since the 1947 Year Book was published. This list is in continuance of those at pp. 1111-1115 of the 1940 Year Book; p. 996 of the 1941 Year Book; p. 973 of the 1942 Year Book; p. 1043 of the 1943-44 Year Book; p. 1148 of the 1945 Year Book; p. 1186 of the 1946 Year Book; and p. 1202 of the 1947 Year Book.

Manitoba.— Royal Commission on Manitoba Water Power constituted June 28, 1947. Dr. Thos. H. Hogg, first member of the Commission. Report published Mar. 24, 1948.